Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
4,978 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
... as in

Now, I know what some of you guys are thinking. What's a nice sweet old girl doing shooting such a nasty boomer of a handgun, especially since her hunting days are probably behind her?

Hi, my name is North Country Gal and I am a recoil addict. I've tried many times to stay away from the big kicking handguns, but ...

Seriously, let me assure you that I am no newbie to shooting magnum handguns. Shot my very first deer with a Super Blackhawk 44 mag, back in the early 70s after teaching myself how to shoot the gun over the course of 6 months, but that's another story.

Not new to the 454, either, having recently shot it as a milder load in a S&W X frame 460. In the same vein, I'll be shooting a lot of 45 Colt in this new Bisley.

Okay, might as well get the next question out of the way. How is the recoil on this new Bisley 454?

Off the rest - the worst way to shoot a big magnum - I made it through about 25 rounds (my self-imposed limit with this class of magnums) with no bruises or spilt blood to show for it, but I was using a shooting glove and that's one accessory I highly recommend for range work with such a gun. Let me also add that Ruger knew what they were doing in offering this gun with the Bisley grip. Stinging up my forearms, yes, but pain and discomfort in my hand, no.

With those questions out of the way, here's the reason I bought the Bisley 454. I love accurate revolvers and it is all the more rewarding when you can tame a beast like the 454 and get it to shoot with accuracy. That's what draws me to shoot these magnum handguns. I love the challenge and, yes, the thrill, too.

After a dozen shots at 25 yards with a couple of different factory 454 ammo to tweak the sights and get a feel for the gun, I moved out to 50 yards to really see what the gun could do.