Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a brand new Ruger SR1911. It is my first 1911 and I love it, I love the look and the feel of it. I do not know how tight or loose the slide to frame fit should be.
My slide to frame fit seems to be a little loose and wobbles just a tiny bit, when I was looking at getting my sr1911 and they gave me the test model off the wall to check it out, I felt the slide to frame fit and It seemed to be about the same as mine, I even asked if they could give me the one off the wall again so I could compare it to mine and it had the same slight wobble.

Here is a video I made, please let me know if you guys think this is bad.
Turn up your volume so you can hear it, sorry about the video I am not very good at taking a good video.

ruger1911.mp4 video by bandits77transam | Photobucket

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
Firstly...
Welcome from Australia mate.
Glad to have you on board, nice folk here and lots of good info.
Congratulations on your SR1911.
I have owned my SR1911 since February and the tolerances on it are quite tight.
The only movement I can get is a miniscule amount laterally, but no noise.
1911's differ in tolerances.
I couldn't get mine to do anything similiar to what you posted in the vid.
Come to think of it, I'd be a tad disappointed if it did.
I am sure others will chime in.

·
Banned
56 Posts
I would say it's a bit loose.

Comparing it to another I have shot. I haven't really handled many SR 1911s yet. I've really only shot one particular gun. It had just a bit of play. My comparison is to the Colts, Brownings and assorted clones. That is what I am more familiar with. As long as it is accurate and functions well I wouldn't worry about it.