Ruger Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did some searching but can't find the answer to my questions and I'm fairly new to revolvers.
I just purchased a GP100 Match Champion in 10MM. When I first bought it I test fired it with 10MM reloads and didn't have any issues with FTF but the trigger action was really heavy and gritty. I purchased a spring and shim kit from Mcarbo and slightly polished the trigger parts and installed the springs and shimmed the trigger and it made a huge difference. I brought it the range with some 40 S&W reloads and out of 24 rounds I had one or two light strikes. I only loaded 24 to test fire and chrono the loads.
I tried some Aguila factory loads and out of 12 rounds I had 9 light strikes that didn't even fire after several tries.
Brought it to an IDPA practice with 40 reloads and had several FTF in about 70 rounds, one that wouldn't fire after several hits.
I'm using Federal primers and TK .035" and .050"moonclips, which moonclips would/should be best? Some rounds are difficult to load in the .050" clips with my BK Mooner so I'm leaning toward the .035". I don't have any Ruger moonclips.
I have a Wolff spring kit coming and plan to change the hammer spring out but the only problem is I don't know what weight the Mcarbo kit comes with since they don't specify in their listing. I've been reading that the 10# spring is the best for reliability so I'll start there.
The light strikes (see pic) have me confused and is making me wonder if I have enough firing pin protrusion. I see where removing some material from the hammer step can alleviate that issue but don't want to go there yet since once you remove the material there's no going back. If I do have to go that route, how much do you remove at a time. I'm guessing .005"?