Ruger Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to everyone in this Ruger 10/22 forum, I am a gun builder seeking the perfect gun barrel & stock upgrade for the Ruger 10/22 gun. Can anyone help me design the perfect barrel & stock ?

·
Ruger Tinkerer
11,814 Posts
Welcome to the site from down in SW Florida. You may want to post your thread in the 10/22 forum. I'm sure there are folks there who be happy to help.

·
Banned
1,641 Posts
Choosing a barrel and stock is extremely subjective. Are you looking to save on weight? If weight isn't an issue, do you want a 20, 22 or 24-inch barrel? Tapered or bull (.920")? Stainless, black, custom color (OD Green, Blue, Red, Gradient, Color Splash, etc.)? For the stock, do you want something foldable? Are you looking for a tactical setup? Lightweight? Laminate stock? There are a LOT of questions. And even more answers to each question.

Here are my thoughts and experiences with my personal 10/22 build.

I started with a stainless .920" bull barrel in 18" from E.R. Shaw. I put it on a Revolution Yukon Laminate Stock with a Nikon 3-9x40 Rimfire scope. At 50 yards, it was a tack driver. It was also incredibly heavy and uncomfortable to use for anything other than bench rest shooting.

I have since modified that gun and added a Tactical Solutions 16.5" fluted, non-threaded barrel in matte black with a Hogue Over-Molded stock. I swapped out the Nikon for a Bushnell red dot and added a lightweight bipod to the front sling swivel (although I don't keep it on there when shooting off-hand). This is significantly lighter and much easier for me to shoot. I can shoot from a bench or off-hand and at 50 yards it too is a tack driver.