Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used some powder from an old 1 lb bottle of H110 recently. Old meaning maybe 2010. Price tag of $24.

When filling the cases I noticed that some cases looked more full than others. When I weighted them they were exactly the same. I noticed that some of the powder looked very fine while while the rest looked like the normal small flakes.

I proceeded with a known used load from my notes and also compared it to a few reloading book loads.

When I started shooting these loads in a rifle it was evident they were too hot. Both fired cases stuck in the chamber and one primer even fell out. I pulled the rest.

I’m hesitant to use any more of this which is too bad as there is at least 1/2 lb left.

I burned some and it looked to burn normal for a slow pistol powder.

My question is why would the powder not be all the same looking? Why is some of the powder very fine while the rest looks normal?
Is this ready to be lawn fertilizer?

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yes, .357 magnum.
I haven't used this bottle in several years.
I'm not perfect but I've been reloading for well over 40 years and never have more than one powder on the bench at any time.

·
Registered
896 Posts
I just looked and it seems my H110 is gone but I did find some 296 which I believe is the same thing.
Anyway the 296 is straight up ALL ball powder, no flakes.
Me thinks yours got "infected".
I did it once by neglecting to empty the powder measure when changing powders. Caught it quick when setting weight but had to dump me some powder.

·
Registered
Ruger .44 Carbine, Security-Six, Service-Six, Mini-14, .30 Carbine Blackhawk
1,276 Posts
Interesting.
I'm using H110 I bought in 2008 that has also been stored in the original container and climate controlled (mostly).
I've been loading a lot of .30 Carbine since Oct with it and I have not seen any issues.