Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to gun ownership but already getting rather obsessive about it. I purchased a new GP100 match champion model 1786 (the one with the rubber grip and full lug) about 3 months ago and after some trips to the range and a lot of dry firing I noticed a scrape on the side of the hammer hammer.jpg that seems to line up with the internal surfacing. interal surface.jpg It seems like it could be knocking/slapping rather than scraping. There is also some minor circular scratches along the base of the same side of the hammer. hammer base.jpg This model is supposed to have some shims if I understand correctly, or whatever this problem is might be fixed with shims. Maybe it is caused by shims? Is this something I should send back or pay to have a gunsmith look at? Resurfacing, gapping and shimming doesn't seem like a big deal, but I'm a noob and don't want to lose a spring or void a warranty or something, plus I don't even know if that is an appropriate solution. The scratches themselves are not very serious, but I don't know if it is a symptom of something to come and I don't want them to keep coming back either.

Apologies in advance if this isn't supposed to be a support forum. I have plans for making it nicer, (grips, springs and sights) but I figure I should take care of any initial problems it might have first. I need some direction in where to point my attention.

·
Registered
56 Posts
If you are comfortable with taking off the grips and removing the hammer. It’s a pretty easy job to check for burrs in the hammer pivot area and measure the clearance between the frame and hammer. Feeler gauges are the only tool necessary for the job. Triggershims.com has a lot of good information on the subject. Of course a gun smith is a good option if you don’t want to attempt the job yourself

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3