Ruger Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This might be a stupid question, my apologies in advance. But I'm new at much of this.

I am purchasing a handgun, have some firearm experience but plan on undergoing training and I enjoy practicing and plan on doing a lot of it. I have, at this point (the gun's not even in yet) given no thought to a concealed carry permit. That said...

If you were camping and/or fishing out in a remote area, well, let's take it one at a time. If you're camping, you can have a gun in your tent or camper I imagine, wouldn't it be similar to having one in your home? I'm thinking of protection against both two- and four-legged intruders meaning to do harm.

But then if you were fishing in an area with moose and bear or whatever, you could not have that gun in your fishing vest or something because it would then be concealed, right?

Again, I know these are probably basic, common sense issues for everyone here, I just want to differentiate between what's legal, what's appropriate and what's practiced.

Let me further clarify that I intend to become intimately familiar with the regulations of my state and other jurisdictions I visit, I just kind of wondered what people typically do. I would think that those who have a gun nearby at home, would also want it nearby when staying in a crappy motel in a bad area or outdoors in the middle of nowhere. Should I train and set the eventual goal to get a concealed carry permit to take some of the guessing out of the equation?

thank you.

·
Code Slinger
2,202 Posts