Ruger Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to shooting and although I have been to a local shooting center to get the feel of some different guns (ended up buying the SR9). I've always rented a set of earmuffs there and even though it's not stupidly expensive to do so, I'd rather have my own. I'd like a better quality and the fact that they are mine.

There is an almost overwhelming assortment of hearing protection out there and I'm looking for some guidance on what features might be the most important. I'd like to be able to be in the range long enough to get a couple hundred shots off without getting a headache.

Thanks - DrivewaySmoker

·
Banned
308 Posts
I'm fairly new to shooting and although I have been to a local shooting center to get the feel of some different guns (ended up buying the SR9). I've always rented a set of earmuffs there and even though it's not stupidly expensive to do so, I'd rather have my own. I'd like a better quality and the fact that they are mine.

There is an almost overwhelming assortment of hearing protection out there and I'm looking for some guidance on what features might be the most important. I'd like to be able to be in the range long enough to get a couple hundred shots off without getting a headache.

Thanks - DrivewaySmoker
I'm a fan of Lee Sonic Ear Valves. They have a spring valve that opens so you can hear things, but closes on loud bursts.

The latest version is called Health Enterprises ACU-LIFE Shooter's Ear Plugs (Sonic Valve II)

Great in the ears under a shooter's ear muff (Mickey Mouse Ears) or alone.

Radio George

·
Registered
553 Posts
I was stupid and didn't wear hearing protection when I was hunting, and only wore cheap earplugs when target shooting. If you frequent an indoor range I would suggest getting the best ear protection you can afford. I do have some hearing loss as a result.