Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been reloading for a couple of years--.327, .357, and 9 mm. Initially I only used jacketed bullets. But reloading led to shooting a lot more, so I started using plated bullets (both Berry's and Rainier) to save money and I have been happy with those. But I am shooting more .357 rifles (an Henry and Rossi lever, and a Ruger bolt). The velocities I like to shoot (1600 to 2100 f/s) are too high for the plated bullets. And I think I'd like to try wadcutters as I try to improve my longer distance target revolver shooting.

I've done just enough reading to be both confused and dangerous. I had never considered lead bullets because of worries about leading, and because I assumed you couldn't push lead any faster than the plated bullets. It would appear proper loads (bullet diameter, CUP, Brinell hardness, coated bullets) eliminate (mostly) the leading concern, and it would seem that lead bullets will tolerate the velocities (or close to the velocities) that I am considering.

So I'm thinking about doing this to 1) save money over jacketed bullets, and 2) possibly also increase my choices (wadcutters) for my target revolvers.

With all of this background, should I consider loading lead? If yes, I'll be back with some basic questions (such as how to slug a barrel, etc.).

·
Registered
35 Posts
You don't have to slug the barrel to shoot lead unless you are making your own. I have only shot about 200 jacketed bullets out of 117,000 the rest lead. I shot lead in everything from 32/20 to 300 win mag. You may want to move the f/s down to low 1000's high 100's (800 to 1200 f/s). The need for speed is for more knock down power than paper targets. Why be hard on your hands and shoulders. I shot 38 short colt and 38 s&w in my GP-100's. Good fun @ 650 f/s.

P.S in revolvers look at the cylinder if you slug. Add all six or five then divide by 6 or 5 and use the average.

·
Registered
860 Posts