Ruger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello my friends, by way of introduction, I'm a social worker who believes in the 2nd amendment, working for 2 more months as a substance abuse counselor, then its RE-TIRED!!!, and I live along the St Lawrence in northern NY. Army Vet, yada, yada yada...and yes I'm a democrat...

any way been shooting all kinds of things since I was a youngster,archery, some competitive, Black powder, some competition, but lately I've been concentrating more on handguns. Currently have an original Single Six Convertible, a Bisley Blackhawk in .45 long colt, and some automatics, 380, 45, and a Mark I.
This last week I bought this new one, primarily because I wanted a .41, but i also liked the way it looks...but what is it exactly, anyone have an idea. The gun shop says it's nickel plated, I think it's polished stainless, and it's magnaported...shoots nice, put almost 100 rounds of handloads into a 14x20 target off hand at about 40 yards,
I thought I had a pic of the target board but I don't, but anyway...does anyone have any ideas about this Blackhawk. Serial number puts it into the early 90's, 47-36XXX, but thats all I know. here's some pics, I hope.

this one is the day I bought it,
"
this one is to show the ports

this one is to show the new Walnut grips

·
Registered
3,583 Posts
If it is nickle plated, it for sure is not factory, and of course the ports are not factory either. No picture is coming through. That would help some.

·
Registered
1,588 Posts
One quick way to tell nickel plating is to place it along side a stainless gun. The nickel will have a yellowish cast to it. Very different looking, but sometimes not so noticeable until you see them side by side.

·
Registered
405 Posts
No idea what it might be, but if I saw one like it I just might feel the need for .41 mag. Nice looking revolver and shoots to boot.