Ruger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a fresh egg when it comes to guns. An incident happened recently on my property that understandably prompt my fiance to get me a gun. He's told me to use his in case of emergency but since I have ZERO experience with guns I have no confidence in me being able to utilize it correctly, let alone I can't rack the slide as fluidly as I believe I should be (he owns a S&W SD9VE)

I was able to check out his dads collection of .22's and .380's, ended up being able to at least shoot a .22 Walther. With a .22 I handled it very well and didn't know what I was so worried about after the fact. I been doing a lot of research for the passed week and a half and I'm still worried about .380 recoil.

Though since coming across the LC380 and the Shield EZ 380 and looking into those the recoil would be greatly reduced compared to a LCP II and BodyGuard from what I gather since they're bigger. My fiance is wanting me to get the Shield EZ but the safety grip rubs me the wrong way. I tend to over think things and come up with potential scenarios one of which being, what if I do need to use a gun and because my grip not being the best it could be on the gun at that moment it doesn't fire when I need it to? So I have little interest in that one.

Sorry for the overly long winded explanation, but now that I've made my decision we're having no luck on finding a LC380. I've looked everywhere online and potential stores, even on Ruger's buy now option and locations its "out of stock". Our last ditch effort is gonna be trying the gun & knife show that is luckily gonna be coming to town next weekend. Hopefully somebody there happens to have at the very least one. *fingers crossed*