Ruger Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
840 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reloading for a couple of years now but still consider myself a novice. I reload 38/357, 9mm and 45acp. I have tried several different powders and am currently using Clays. It burns pretty clean and I have read that it is low flash. I've been using it for my 38spl. range loads but plan on using it for 9 and 45acp also. I have been thinking of using it for self defense loads as well. Does this sound okay or is it asking too much from one powder when there are so many choices. Would something else be better for each caliber and intended use? Thanks for your input.

·
Registered
965 Posts
I like Clays too. I use it for target loads in 38 and 357. It makes some very accurate rounds.
For heavy 9mm loads I use AA #7 or Power Pistol. For 45ACP I use AA #5.

·
Larry the Conservative
5,458 Posts
My fav all around is Winchester 231. It gives me all the things you are seeing now, plus it is on about every page (pistol section) of the reloading manual.

·
Registered
840 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
My fav all around is Winchester 231. It gives me all the things you are seeing now, plus it is on about every page (pistol section) of the reloading manual.
Thanks, stargeezer. I thought I had some but just checked and it's WSF. Anybody tried this?
If so what do you think of it compared to 231 or Clays for the purpose I've mentioned?

·
Registered
549 Posts
I've been using it for my 38spl. range loads but plan on using it for 9 and 45acp also. I have been thinking of using it for self defense loads as well.