Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I have been carrying for the last 6 months, I carry a Sr40c. My wife came to me and said she also would like to carry also,we have both taken required classes as well as additional classes. my wife has shot my 40 but it is to much for her, she is small 115lb maybe? how do I pick the right cal and style? semi-auto or wheelgun? carry location purse or person? Look forward to hearing from you thanks.

·
Registered
89 Posts
You should not choose the right carry arm for her, she should make the choice. Would you want her to choose your carry for you?

·
Registered
630 Posts
Really the best thing you can do is to take her somewhere you can rent or borrow several different models. I recently rented an sr9c and a sig p239, i really liked both, i leaned towards the sr9c for capacity and because i already have an sr9 that i use for idpa and plinking, so that safety is just muscle memory to hit it when i draw it. My girlfriend does not like the trigger on striker fired pistols and she shot exceptionally well with the p239. I got to write a bigger check than expected that day.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I see your point. Well, we have been married 30 yrs I guess I can trust her when I say here's the checkbook buy what you like!!!!

·
Registered
3,764 Posts
You might want to look at a SR9c. Very similar to SR40c. Smaller grip. Less recoil. Great trigger. See if you can find one and let her hold it. Even better, let her fire it. I feel she would be very happy.

·
Registered
2,491 Posts
You should not choose the right carry arm for her, she should make the choice. Would you want her to choose your carry for you?