Ruger Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been working in private Security for over 20 years now. How many of us are here on the forum.

·
Banned
4,407 Posts
I did some security for a few years in the 80's. Even some pre-TSA airport screening.

You would be amazed at how many women have handcuffs and adult toys in their bags. Mostly women "forgetting" thay have a handgun, too. Back then they usually only lost the gun and got probation.

Also "guarded" parking garages and a UPS hub. All were third shift, crappy pay and zero benefits.

All were unarmed, too. I would never consider an unarmed security position these days.

·
Registered
414 Posts
I retired from the military and after a short stint as a Police Officer(it just wasnt my cup of tea it seems), Im now a Lt. at a private security firm and do Private Security/Executive Protection. It doesnt pay quiet as well as the former two on a consistent basis but with a retirement check coming in I am better able to afford to do what I WANT to do vs what I HAVE to do. It goes a long ways towards having some piece of mind, besides its a hell of a lot safer too! What kind of a price can you put on that?

I would never consider an unarmed security position these days.
I agree with you there for the most part. These days we live in a pretty wreckless society where violence is hardly an after thought. Its pretty rare these days I dont wear a threat level IIIA vest and carry a 1911 and 4 mags in addition to the one in the gun! You just really never know what you might stumble into or get confronted with. Most criminals hardly distinguish the difference in a "Flashlight Cop" getting paid minimum wage trying to scrape by and a armed Patrol Officer.