Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After looking off and on for a while I finally got a sr 1911. I came close to one several months back at a lgs and was ready to put it on layaway, then found out it was already sold but someone there accidently put it out. I was looking on gunbroker a few weeks ago and found one with a buy it now price of $699. I didnt hesitate to grab it. The seller had a shop that was close by so I drove to get it last friday. Wow this gun is a good shooter. This is my first time ever with a 1911 and a 45. My only complaint with it is the soft case. I dont think ive ever heard anyone talk about it ,but it wouldve been nice if it came in a hard plastic case instead. Its not really a big deal though as I had a nice hard plano case here for it that I only gave $10 for. Ive been wanting to get into reloading and now thanks to this gun I really need to so a I afford to shoot it more. Can anyone tell me if this gun likes tula ammo. I tried some in my p95 and it seemed ok other than being dirty. Here is a pic of the gun and the first target I shot with it. I think I done ok being new to a 45. I was standing around 15 -20 feet from it.

Attachments

·
Registered
11 Posts
Congrats on the SR1911. I am also in the market for one. Your liking of the gun makes me want one even more. I hear nothing but good stories about them.

·
Registered
3,855 Posts
Sure hope Ruger makes a California variant of this pistol someday. With gun sales the way they are, not very likely I guess. Ruger is making so much money selling what they make now I doubt they are motivated to cater to the whims of the People's Republic.

·
Registered
150 Posts
I work part time in a gun shop, we have had three SR1911 on order since March. Got one in the other day very quality gun. As good as any Kimber I've seen and it cost 1/2 as much.

Jerry

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
Congratulations.