Ruger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I really didn't mean to influence anyone not to buy or consider buying Ruger products. They are generally great guns. That being said here is why I sometimes underrate things.

My collection includes 450 to 500 guns at any time. Everything from before the Civil War to present day. I am a longtime machinist retired from the Navy and Gunsmith for almost 20 years. I also own several gun shops. I am very picky and expect a lot more than the average gun enthusiast from the firearms I keep. I sometimes catch myself comparing a $400 dollar gun to a $2,000 dollar gun. Granted sometimes the $400.00 gun is just as good but most of the time you get what you pay for.

My advice is go to the shops. Handle the guns, read all the reviews you can and go back and handle and compare. Find the gun that fits you best. That's the one I would buy. Everybody sees, feels and shoots guns differently.

A shop that won't let you handle the guns is missing the boat. Go elsewhere.

·
Registered
4,954 Posts
My advice is go to the shops. Handle the guns, read all the reviews you can and go back and handle and compare. Find the gun that fits you best. That's the one I would buy. Everybody sees, feels and shoots guns differently.
With you all the way on this. By the way, in case I missed saying so, welcome to the forum. Glad to have you aboard.

·
Registered
687 Posts
I didn't find anything offensive in what you posted. We all have opinions, some times they coincide, some times they differ.

I, for one, hope you keep contributing your views whether I agree with them or not.

Welcome aboard from one sailor to another!

·
Registered
6,614 Posts
Thanks for your words of wisdom, good advise for future gun buyers.

Welcome to the Forum from Georgia!

·
Registered
6,450 Posts
Welcome from North Dakota. And what happened to your original post ? Either my eyes are gone, or it's been deleted ??

·
Registered
7,866 Posts