Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys (Newbie Here) :)

A buddy of mine were out target shooting this past Sunday @ Boulder Rifle & Pistol Club.
We were at the 50yd. range. I had my new 10/22 TakeDown and never shot
at a 100 yards YET. I shoot only CCI Ammo.

My buddy says, " schooner your Ruger is not accurate at 100 yards, we better stay here at the 50 yard range."

The question is guys; is my buddy right :confused:
Need your experience about this accuracy thing.
P.S. How far have you guys shot you 10/22 with moderate accuracy :confused:

·
Registered
5,447 Posts
I have not tried them at 100 yards, but I . . have . . hit a chunk of .45ACP
brass, first try, at 50 yards. I was getting ten shot, one inch groups at
50 yards, and that sure makes me happy. :D

Admittedly from the bench, sand bag rest, with scope and good ammo. ;)

·
Banned
650 Posts
If you look at the ballistics for almost any kind of 22 ammo it drops about 6" at 100 yards. If you have a head or tail wind it can create havoc with your holdover. Exactly how consistent do you think 22lr is at 100 yards?

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
I'm not picking on your 10/22 ( and yes I owned one) but they are not the most accurate P-shooters ( stock) at any distance , sure you can work them up ,change this or that ,spend more money on upgrades ...but still, end up with a more accurate P-shooter . For consistent ragged hole groups there are better options . Now that said ,they are reliable , fun to shoot and the list of accessories goes on forever . For me I don't often shoot out that far with a .22 lr and prefer to go to about 75 yards using HV ammo noticing very little if any drop . Of course your mileage may vary as well as others on this forum .

·
Registered
177 Posts
Your friend is wrong, imo.