Ruger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m in the market for a wheel gun and I think I’ve settled on the Redhawk 45 ACP/LC. However, I’m new to the world of revolvers so I’m looking for a sanity check.

My primary requirement is for a backup gun capable of bear protection in Alaska, boar hunting, etc. Until recently I have been considering a Redhawk 4” 44 magnum or possibly an Alaskan (I was looking for a balance between effectiveness vs controllability and settled on the 44 mag as a good middle ground). From what’s I’ve read (but I don’t have direct experience), the 45LC can handle heavy/hot loads that can perform similar to 44 mag (Buffalo Bore, etc) and should be suitable for bear protection.

A side benefit of the 45 ACP/LC is the fact that I could shoot 45ACP more easily & cheaply for things like IPSC Revolver and 3Gun Heavy competitions (more for fun and practical training…I’m not expecting to win a 3Gun match with a revolver).

I’ve searched through this message board (and others) reading all I can on the model. I’m aware some people are experiencing issues, which is also a consideration.

I’m not in a position to be able to have lots of guns, so I’m looking for a flexible gun that I can use for more than just bear protection, but obviously without sacrificing the effectiveness of that use case.

I’d appreciate any feedback.

Cheers,
Rob

·
Registered
4,356 Posts
I have one, and the .45 LC capability would be great as a wilderness defense gun, the Redhawk can easily handle the hot .45 LC defensive loadings.

As for the .45 ACP and match shooting, accuracy can be spotty with the .45 ACP.