Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to buy my first striker-fired 9mm, for the dual purpose of home defense and concealed carry.

I have narrowed my choices to the SR9 full-size, the FNS-9 and the Smith & Wesson M&P 9 full-size; all are double-stacks and all are very close in size, feature set and cost.

How does the SR9 stack up to the FNS-9 and M&P 9, in terms of reliability and accuracy?

Are there any known issues with the SR9?

Thanks for the assist, guys.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Welcome! I have no experience with the FNS, but own an M&P9 and have quite a bit of trigger time with a buddies SR9.

Neither guns have displayed any reliability issues, and have eaten every variety of ammunition we have fed them. My M&P is somewhere in the 2300 round area mostly 115gr ball. Not certain of the Ruger but it should be close.

For the most part, I think it's a matter of ergonomics for YOU. I like the feel of the M&P in my hand better than the Ruger and shoot it more accurately, more consistently. The SR9 is slimmer so that may fare better for CC'ing but again, that's really up to you. (FWIW, my CC is the M&P Shield9.)

Cheers!

*edited for spelling

·
Registered
9,171 Posts
I have no experience with the S&W but have shot the FNS-9 and own an SR9 and SR9c.
The FNS-9 was a nice shooter(a buddies gun) but I prefer my SR's. Neither my SR9 or SR9c have given me any problems at all. As dubcity demon says, they shoot anything fed to them and have shown no reliability issues at all. My 9c will be my cc weapon when I get my CCW permit. Both are so very comfortable to shoot, and both are accurate.

·
Viceroy 🟩🟩🟩
3,256 Posts
FYI you might want to check out Ruger's 9E model. It loses the loaded chamber indicator of the SR9, which was a big plus for me. I also like the 9E sights better.

·
Registered
4,853 Posts