Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Banned
1,641 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well... It has begun. I've started my very first AR build. I've never built one, but I have had some experience with basic gunsmithing. I've decided to build my lower from scratch and buy a complete upper. I'm not sure which direction I'm going with the upper at this point, but I think I'll end up with at 16.5" barrel upper of some sort.

I went after work Friday to my local gun shop and purchased a stripped lower from Surplus Ammo & Arms and I drove over to Palmetto State Armory on Saturday to pick up one of their lower parts kits. The kit was on sale for a really good price and includes the buffer tube, stock, pistol grip and all necessary pins, springs, trigger, etc. I'll most likely upgrade the stock and pistol grip to some better components (Magpul has some nice stuff and I'm always a fan of Hogue grips). It depends on what I end up with for the upper, really.

So far, I'm pleased with the lower that I bought. I know they're not a well-known brand, but the shop I frequent has done a couple of builds using their lowers and has had good results. I trust their judgement and went with the purchase. It has a good fit and finish and is 100% mil-spec so I know everything will snap right into place. I have no reason to think this lower won't work perfectly. It's got good edges and clean machining with no weird seams or edges. I think it's a good place for me to start.

Anyway, I'm waiting on some roll pin punches and a couple of other tools so that I can do the build cleanly and efficiently. I started last night and just wasn't feeling good about driving in roll pins without the proper tools.

Below is the stripped lower. I'll try and keep up with photos as I move through the process. I did the red and white paint on the lower for the rollmark and the pictograms for "SAFE" and "FIRE". The finish looks a little weird in photos, but they're just fingerprints.