Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I am new to Ruger and this forum. Bought a 22/45 Mark III on Monday. Went out yesterday to try it out. Lots of fun to shoot but I was a little concerned by the jams. The first round out of the magazine did not chamber correctly on about half my magazine loads. Do you all think this is something that will clear up as the gun gets "broke in"? I did not do a thorough cleaning before I took it out, just ran a patch through it a few times and I didn't take it apart (really dreading that the first time). Any advice will be welcome. Thanks in advance.

Jim

·
Registered
3,604 Posts
What type of ammo are you using? Some ammo feeds much better than others, just as some .22 ammo is much more accurate than others in certain guns. Twenty-two's are the most ammo sensitive guns out there. Any ammo with a truncated cone is usually more prone to jams. But, all semi-auto's need a minimum of a 200 round break in period. How are you chambering that first round? The proper way is to pull back on the bolt of your gun and let it fly forward (not to ease it forward with your hand.)

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply gunman. I am using Remington, brass-plated, hollow points. Wouldn't be suprised if they are part of the problem because they were cheap. Got 525 of them for $15. Do you have a recommendation on good ammo? Thanks.

·
Forum Founder
3,639 Posts
You'll just have to try different kinds until you find what it likes best. I had some winchester led HP's and mine didn't like them. I tried the Federal Bulk plated HP's and it loves them. Like Gunman says, they are all different and like different ammo.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5