Ruger Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I just bought my first ruger, a used, New Vaquero that from the serial numbers has a build in 2012.

The cylinder was pretty dirty (gotta love people who don't even bother to clean a gun before they sell it) so I just cleaned it up and noticed what looks like a ding or divet in one of the chambers in the cylinder. I'm new to revolvers and am wondering if this rises to the level of calling up Ruger and sending the gun to them. It doesn't look like it would impede the bullet or anything but again, I am fairly new to revolvers and just don't know. Thanks for any advice.

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
Probably won't affect accuracy, but I'd be pissed if I bought it.
It's a really good reason to thoroughly inspect before purchase.
Incidently, a phone call to Ruger might offer a solution, worth a try.

·
Registered
738 Posts
Shoot it...if it groups ok, then forget it...or call Ruger about a fix. A nick on the mouth of the cylinder may not affect anything...but one on the crown of the barrel muzzle is usually a big deal. Rod

·
Registered
4,407 Posts
Probably dinged by a steel cleaning rod. One good reason I only use brass or aluminum. Any cleaning rod should only be inserted in the rear of a cylinder, anyway.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Brining it to the range tomorrow

I'm going to bring it to the range tomorrow and see how it shoots. I don't suspect it will effect accuracy but if it does I'll have to deal with it.

Thanks

·
Registered
5,349 Posts
can't tell from the pic, but if it were me, i'd look REALLY REALLY close to see if that chip actually has a hairline fracture coming out of it from some direction, and as others have said a call to ruger couldn't hurt.

·
Registered
1,040 Posts
Brass expands when fired.
Lol, not to the end of the cylinder! Do you see the ridge in the cylinder that's where the brass ends...it can't grow app. 1/4" in length!