Ruger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys...
I just purchased an AR-556 and have a few questions. I am a newb to the AR platform. I have been an SKS owner for quite a while and am very familiar with it/invested in the 7.62x39 caliber. I have been thinking of getting an AR for a while now and with Ruger making the AR-556 and hearing all the great reviews I was sold. Anyhow my first question is.....is it normal for the buttstock to have some play in it where it meets the lower receiver at the extension nut? I know the adjustable part will have some play in it but if I grab the round part of the buttstock with my hand where it meets the receiver and try try rotate it...it will move slightly back and forth (as in clockwise/counterclockwise). The nut seemed a tad loose out of the box and I was able to turn it a bit to hand tight. Is that amount of play (after turning the nut to hand tight) normal or too loose? Second...I noticed that the little piece on the trigger guard that is held in place with the 2 pins, once again, has a small amount of play in it...it has a small amount of wiggle to it. Normal or no? Lastly....the rifle has a fair amount of oil on it and inside the upper receiver area. Do I need to wipe this off/out or is the rifle go to go right out of the box. I apologize for the long post and if the questions are simplistic but, as I said, I am new to the AR platform and want to make sure all is good wife my new rifle.

Thanks!
Jim

·
Registered
5,280 Posts
Welcome to the forum, and congrats on your new Ruger.

1. Your castle nut is loose and needs to be tightened.*

2. The thick oily stuff Ruger packed your rifle with is a preservative, not a lubricant. It's wise to clean all that stuff off before going to the range.

*If you don't plan on changing your buffer tube any time soon, it's a good idea to secure the nut either with thread locker, or even by staking it with a hammer and punch.

·
Registered