Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5,349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all, so since i started shooting in june, i've been slowly accumulating a little stockpile. all i have right now are two 10/22s, a 9mm, and a 12ga, so obviously those are the only flavors of ammo i have. until this week i hadn't been labeling the plastic ammo boxes. didn't really feel the need-- figured i'd use it up before i'd need to think about the age of it, but now that i've amassed a fair amount of it, i've started just labeling the date i i bought it and boxed it. does anyone/everyone else do this? if so, how long to you keep stuff stored before feeling you need to use it up? i live in the desert, so humidity isn't a concern.

·
Registered
1,845 Posts
I have gotten into the habit of marking each box of ammo with the purchase month/year. I am sure it is not necessary, but I now use the oldest first. I store most of my ammo in the basement and when I bring up a new box to put in the garage for use, I mark the "date opened" on it.

·
Registered
226 Posts
I think you guys have got a little "OCD" goin' on & you need to stop it. LOL
Keep it in a cool spot or as best you can, modern ammo doesn't have a shelf life. :D

Although, I'd bet $$ to donuts that someone will disagree, because that's what they do.

·
Registered
824 Posts
As I accumulated reloaded ammunition, labeling was the only way to identify different loads using the same brass and bullet style.

I also want to keep track of the date they were reloaded. If I have several hundred rounds of a particular load, I prefer to shoot the oldest reloads first.

As for how long reloaded ammunition will last? There are variables. The quality of the reloads, humidity, temperature and packaging.

I live on the southern Idaho desert and like Nevada it's an arid place with very low humidity. So I'm not overly concerned about the effect humidity may have on my reloads.