Ruger Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just purchased a Security 9 compact and took it to the range. BTW, I loved it! Felt great, shot great, easy to carry. I'll say more after my question for those that are interested.

I'm fairly new to reloading. My EDC for the last six months is a CZ P-07, for those not familiar pretty close to Glock 19 in size. I like it a lot but it is harder to conceal than smaller pistols. I've got an amazing appendix carry holster and I do alright. So I wanted something smaller and liked what I saw in the Security 9 Compact.

I shot some 115 grain cheap White box (which according to a few on the internet has caused some problem with this pistol). I only shot 20 rounds of this and it was flawless. But with my reloads I had some issues. Not stovepipe, it would chamber a round and it looked like it jammed up with the following round coming up to load as well.

When I reloaded for the P-07 I was having all kinds of problems. Some guys on here taught me to do the PLUNK Test and so I did and ended up with a reduced OAL. The load data I had for the 25 grain lead RN in the reload manual had an OAL of 1.125 and with the PLUNK test I reduced it down to 1.0955. I also loaded at MINIMUM charge because this made me nervous.

SO...... My guess is that the reduced OAL is causing the problem in the Ruger. THOUGHTS PLEASE?

If this pistol becomes reliable then I'm in love with it. The reviews online whined about some things. Reviews would all go something like "it was surprising how well this gun feels and shoots for such a low price". I'm not a gun reviewer but I have shot many semi autos and in my experience I put it up with any of them!

·
Registered
628 Posts