Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
Ruger New Vaquero .44 Mag
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey group, I'm pretty new to reloading with only a couple hundred rounds under my belt. I've been loading up some .44 mag with 240 gr XTPs over 23 grains of H110/296. I recently ordered some .44 special starline brass and found some 200 gr XTPs locally. I think they'll perform better out of the .44 special cases, but I'd also like to try them in the .44 mag with the H110 powder. I have a pound of Titegroup that I would like to use for the 44 special. Primers I have on hand are Federal 150s and CCI 350 magnums. I have had good results with the Federal 150s under H110 so far. Gun is a Ruger New Vaquero in .44 mag.

TL;DR version
Loads for 200 gr XTPs in .44 mag and .44 special
Powders on hand for the loads: H110/296 and Titegroup. CFE is also a possibility.
Primers I have are CCI 350s and Federal 150s
Gun is a Ruger New Vaquero in .44 mag
Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
4,457 Posts
In 44 magnum I like Hornadys recipes. I also follow Hodgdons recommendations. You can access Hodgdons on thier web site.

Reactions: Bob Lewis and Tacky

·
Registered
116 Posts
Welcome Evan!

- Why do you think that the 200s will work better out of .44 Spl cases?

- Are you asking for load data? There are better sources than random people you don‘t know.

- What reloading manuals do you have?

- Are you wanting full power loads, target loads, SD loads?

- If CFE is possible, what else might you have?

Here is Hodgdon data for the .44 Magnum:

Font Screenshot Electronic device Technology Number

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
In 44 magnum I like Hornadys recipes. I also follow Hodgdons recommendations. You can access Hodgdon's on their website.