Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! I have decided that reloading might earnestly be a good idea at this time as I am currently shooting a number of pricey cartridges. Mainly, I have ordered one of the new Bisleys in .480 Ruger and reloading makes a heap of sense for this cartridge. On top of that, I want to reload .454 Casull, .44 Magnum, and possibly .45 Colt. I have a RCBS Rock Chucker, and want to stick to single stage as these cartridges are too high output for me to be willing to risk a mistake. Especially considering I've never done it before. So school me! What do you guys recommend for brass, primers, powder, bullets, dies, and reloading manuals for these cartridges? Any advice is most appreciated! Also, any good accuracy target loads that you guys like to shoot would be great. I'm not a hunter, but love shooting some big bore bad boy handguns :)

·
Reloading Addict
10,714 Posts
ABCs of reloading, Lee 2nd Edition and Lymans are all good. Read a manual and all the rest will come to you. I don't mean to sound cocky, but you really should have a good manual or two before you start. Single stage is the way to start, I'll give you credit for that. Welcome to reloading and be safe.

·
Registered
420 Posts
Welcome to the world of reloading. First, start collecting brass. Brass is the most expensive component in reloading. Pistol brass tends to last longer than rifle brass.
RCBS Rock Chucked is a good choice.
As for dies, you can't go wrong with RCBS dies. I would suggest that whatever brand you choose, you stick with. I say that as it is easier to maintain them if you only have to support one brand. When buying dies for reloading pistol ammo get ones that have carbide inserts in the resizing die. This will save you the trouble of luring your cases.
The first thing to get is one or more reloading books. Read them before you start.