Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this rifle and this forum so here goes my first post.

I have a series 185 mini 14 and have been reading the manual over and over because this rifle is far different than any others that I own.I read a warning that reads "sustained firing can cause excessive heat in the barrel and can cause "cook-off of a cartridge in the chamber."

How big of a concern should this be for me as a casual shooter? I shoot for enjoyment and not to see how fast I can go through ammo.

Does Ruger post this warning on all of their long guns?

Thanks in advance for your comments!

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
It is a very slim possibility and not likely with a semi auto rate of fire.

I had mine hot enough to evaporate all lubricant and mildly burn my trigger finger. No worries.

If you have an AC556 and abuse it with a few drums you may get there.

·
Registered
370 Posts
I've put alot of rnds thru the Mini14 platform, I have never had a rnd cook off. That being said, Ruger is a very large fire arms manufacture, there are alot of stupid people out there " just watch You Tube " that could be some kind of Ruger lawyer speek to just CYA. In case some dummy did that and got hurt. I mean look at the handguard on the mini, Thats a lawyer designed dont get your fingers caught in the op rod and try to sue us if ever was. JMHO.

·
Registered
1,603 Posts
Only in a bad spot during war time should you have to think about a cook-off.

I put 3 30 round mags through in about 3 or 4 minutes one day 'just because I could'.

Barrel was hot as hell but that was about it.

Oh, by the way, that was back when we were paying $3.95 for a box of 20 rounds of .556! Those days are in the rear view mirror now.

·
Registered
10,156 Posts