Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys just bought my first mini 14 looked at ar's and minis and because ive enjoyed owning other ruger firearms i went with the mini. So far after running about 60 rounds thru it I'm starting to get worried! At least 10 to 12 jams using hornady Steel match52gr bthp ammo. This ammo was fired using both the 5 and 20 round factory clips. Sometimes the spent casings would get hung in the bolt and other times it would eject but not feed the next round. This happened with both clips. I'm no gun expert so any help would be appreciated.

· Registered
5,395 Posts
Hi, and welcome to the forum. Sorry you are frustrated with your new rifle. Did you take it apart and clean/lube it before going to to the range? If not, you need to try that. Also, try some different types of ammo to see if they run better.

If all else fails, call Ruger. They will fix you up.

Lastly, just a word about terminology. Your Mini-14 actually has magazines, not clips.

· Registered
5,330 Posts
What the others recommended. And you might also try a heavier load. Make sure the ejector is free and clean.

· Ausmerican.
42,713 Posts
Welcome from Australia mate.
Glad to have you on board, nice folk here and lots of good info.
Plus one on the cleaning prior to shooting.

· Registered
77 Posts
Most of us has been there, new firearm, issues, what to do...

Is it a new out of the box Mini, or used?

If it is new, I bet a cleaning is in order. If it is used a super duper cleaning is in order.

Let us know the model, if new, etc. Watch a youtube video on field stripping and be patient getting the bolt back in there. It took me a few tries and heck it has been a few months now and I probably forgot the proper way to hold the bolt to get it in easily.

· Registered
719 Posts
Hi, I just bought 2-Ruger Mini14's 3 weeks ago too...
Sorry that you having feed problems...