Ruger Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i've wanted a SP101 for over a decade, and when i found out that now Ruger was making them in blue i was glad i waited. not knocking the stainless but im not they type to want anything flashy. i walked into a local dealer to make a layaway payment on another firearm and like always, decided to look around and saw this on display... new SP101 357 blue for $534! i immediately pulled my wallet back out and waved it in the air like a crazy person while pointing at the revolver with my other hand. just got it home yesterday so have not shot it yet but my questions to you all are:

1) is the Hogue grip worth a look over the factory one? i'v read the trigger guard can pulverize your finger during repeated fire.

2) is it ok to shoot 38 special a lot or just a few times and use 357 mostly?

Attachments

·
Registered
90 Posts
I like the blued version, congratulations. I've no experience with the hogue grips, but with the original grips my middle finger does takes a beating with continued shooting.

Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
555 Posts
The factory grip for my SP101 2.25" was too small for me so I tried a Pachmayr wood, Diamond Pro and Hogue monogrip. The Pachmayr wood looked great but was punishing to my arthritic hands shooting 357. I settled on the Hogue monogrip(3rd from left) for comfort and I get a full grip on the draw which I didn't with the others.
IMG_1628 (3).JPG
IMG_1623.JPG

·
Registered
330 Posts
Very nice. Looks great in the blued finish. They did a nice job on the bluing.

·
Righteous Dude
21,666 Posts
Nice revolver!

Shoot as much 38 special as you want. It's lower power/pressure anyways compared to the magnum.

Enjoy! 😊

·
Registered
51 Posts