Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have finally used up my huge supply of tetra grease I have been using for many years and now need get something for my handguns. What are you guys recommending these days? Any new products out there? Thanks.

·
Registered
249 Posts
I use TW25b from Mil-Comm products and am very pleased. They have a sampler kit of cleaner, lube and grease for $15.

·
Registered
5,373 Posts
Not new, but Ballistol has a lot of fans. I use it and it works great.

Frog Lube seems to be gaining quite a few converts, too.

·
Retired Moderator & Jazz Nerd
16,351 Posts
While I used FP10 for many years, I switched over to WeaponSheild a couple of years ago with great results.

·
Registered
815 Posts
i'm on all the cleaning supply bandwagons. i've got some i use frog lube, some mPro7, some ballistol--they all seem to work just fine.

hickok45 on youtube uses ballistol exclusively, and he seems to shoot more than all of us--without any lube issues.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I don't have any experience with any of the products mentioned. But I like the idea of one product for everything. It just seems to me that the spray products couldn't lubricate effectively. But like I said, I have no experience. I like to be able to shoot my XD a couple of hundred rounds at a time. And, I clean every time I shoot it.

·
Registered
1,259 Posts
I am a real fan of Weapon Shield.

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
All good brand lubes do the trick.
Just use it sparingly, a little goes a long way.
I use this at present.

·
Registered
947 Posts
I use the Hoppes #9 and gunlube for over 30 years. guess it's because I was born in Westcheter PA. where the Hoppes solvents and oils are made...gotta' keep it close to home!

·
Republican!!!
11,413 Posts