Ruger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So anyway a bunch of guys at my work are wanting to try out hog hunting. I have been in the market for a good all around gun for hunting anything that I could possibly want to go after in Texas.

I recently found a used Ruger No. 1 stainless with laminate wood for 699.99.

Comes with:
Clean bore and chamber
No dings in the metal, one or two minor dings in the wood
Chambered in 30-06
and finally a bushnell scope. (No irons)

For me the scope is no important as I would change it out as soon as finances would permit.

Do you think this is a good deal? I have no experience with No. 1s. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
37 Posts
That would be a fair price for a blue one w/ decent wood if it was in a caliber I wanted. I don't know the stainless/laminate #1 market.

·
Registered
381 Posts
Greetings,

Because Ruger stopped producing the stainless number one last year, they are getting hard to find. In the future, the stainless guns will go up in value. The 30-06 is one of the more useful do it all calibers. If you want a number one, that would be a good choice for target and hunting chores.

moondog911 :cool:

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
Because Ruger stopped producing the stainless number one last year, they are getting hard to find. In the future, the stainless guns will go up in value. The 30-06 is one of the more useful do it all calibers. If you want a number one, that would be a good choice for target and hunting chores.
Plus one.

·
Registered
6,529 Posts
Ceasing production doesn't equate to increased value. Value is all about demand and well...I just never see much demand for the stainless #1's. They lose all the style and class the blued/walnut ones have in my opinion. I wouldn't say the price is a great deal by any means but if it's worth that to YOU, that's what matters. The chambering will cover a wide variety of needs.

·
Registered
2,338 Posts