Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I have gotten back into firearms after a long hiatus. She's never had much experience with handguns, but I have, and it's been a bit of an experience. I can handle just about anything recoil-wise, and it just doesn't really bother me. However, upon handing her my Kahr CM9, we found out in a hurry that recoil DOES bother her, in a pretty big way. Admittedly, I know the CM9 is going to move around more than a full-size, but I thought a 9mm loaded with standard-pressure rounds wouldn't be too much for her. WRONG!

So, needing some help! I've got NO experience with the SR9 series, but looking at all the forums and reviews I can find, looks like they may be the ticket. However, I'm concerned not just with recoil, but also the strength of the recoil springs - she can't grip the CM9 and rack the slide AT all. So, given our two other Rugers in the household (10/22, SR22), I thought I'd look into something with some similar blood in it, as it were.

I know the SR9C has a dual-spring recoil spring setup like my Kahr. Is it any harder to rack than, say, the full-size SR9? Any lady shooters out there, or anyone who is sharing their gun with one, who can help?

Thanks for all the forthcoming posts!!!

·
Registered
597 Posts
I have let a lady friend of mine try to rack the slide of my SR9 she had difficulty doing so and I think the the SR9c is not any better. Only way to tell is visit your LGS and have her or yourself try it out.

·
Registered
1,982 Posts
I own a P95 and feel the recoil is really not all that bad with standard pressure loads. It is a double spring configuration and my wife and 13 year old daughter shot it and never complain about recoil and can rack the slide with no problem. I have shot the SR9 as well and it was comparable, maybe a bit more felt recoil on it than on the P95.