Ruger Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,391 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My collection has grown greatly in the last few years and there are a few that didn't work out or duplicate other needs. So I'm in the position of needing to sell a few guns, but I'm not really experienced on how to go about that. In the past I've just sold to friends or family, but in this case they aren't interested.

As with a lot of stuff, I assume a private sale will get me the most return. I'm in the process of trying that with a pistol on the local state Armslist. So far that isn't really generating much interest. Gunbroker is another option, but that's a more complicated thing to deal with so I'd rather avoid that hassle.

Which leads me to the trade-in option. In this particular case I'm thinking of using the gun I'm selling to mostly pay for a gun I want. What can I expect from a FFL in that situation? 50%? Or would it be less?

Just looking for general advice, I guess.

·
Banned
1,940 Posts
Probably 60%. Why don't you look for a gun trading or outdoor sporting goods trading facebook page for your state. It works similar to armslist, but they are usually much more popular.

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
Any time I have explored a trade-in option on a new gun, the dealer has made an insulting offer, if any. Perhaps that is just geographic, however. On the other hand, I have had great success on Gunbroker and I did not find the procedure to be overly complicated. Just be prepared for the added expense of either paying ridiculous shipping fees to your buyer's FFL [USPS will not handle firearms for private citizens] or engage the services of your own FFL to handle shipping for you.

·
Banned
1,940 Posts