Ruger Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've built several AR's over the years, sold a few I shouldn't have, and am currently in the middle of another project (bad idea in the pandemic pricing but I already had the stripped lowers and uppers bought before covid so why not). I'm currently on the fence about the caliber of the build. I'm debating between a 223 Wylde, 224 valkyrie, and a 204 Ruger. The 204 Ruger idea currently caught my eye simply because it's the only caliber with readily available ammunition on the dealers shelves. I've had a lot of experience with the 223 Wylde, has anyone had any experience with the 224 Valkyrie cartridges or the 204 Ruger in an AR platform and what's your thoughts? Primary use would be coyote control on the ranch and target shooting. In case anyone's curious the lower and upper are both Aero Precision being paired with an ALG Defense QMS trigger, a set up I've had great luck with in previous builds

·
Cat Herder
1,656 Posts
What range are you shooting? Within 600 yards or so the 223 is fine for targets and coyotes (I think, I've not used one that far out), and when you can find ammo it's cheap to feed and there is a large selection. Even at current inflated prices ($1/round) it's cheaper than 224 or 204.

·
Premium Member
14,219 Posts
The 224 Val caught my attention before things got crazy with supplies and ammo shortages. After getting revved up over all the 6.5 Creedmoor hoopla I would stick with the good ol' 223.

·
Registered
30 Posts
It really depends on what you depend to do with it.

Just before things got crazy I was in the same boat as you. ended up with the 6.8spc as it will mostly be used for hogs. Where I hunt them distance is not an issue so the .270short (6.8) works well

·
Registered
66 Posts