Ruger Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings from Knoxville, TN. After researching and shooting several pistols (Glock, Kahr, Kimber 1911 -$$$, and the SR9c) I laid down my money today on the SR9c.

(I also own a Pardner Pump Protector 12 guage.)

Haven't fired the Ruger yet; but have stripped it, wiped it down, cleaned the striker / track, and reassembled. All thanks to Youtube vids.

One question, if I may. After the gun is back together, and the slide has been racked... Should I go ahead and dry fire it to release the trigger tension, or just leave it alone? I haven't yet picked up any snap caps. I see Hickock dry fire all the time after he has racked the slide, but lots of people say it's bad for the gun.

Thanks, and I look forward to lots of education from you guys here.

Oh, one more thing. Am I a total newbie for liking the speed loader for the magazines? :confused:

Here's my Ruger. My heart wanted the all black, but I didn't want to wait for them to order it. The stainless is growing on me.

·
Registered
2,593 Posts
Welcome from Colorado. I don't have an answer to your question but asan opinion I would always recommend snap caps even if the manual says its ok to dry fire. Couldn't hurt.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Welcome from Colorado. I don't have an answer to your question but asan opinion I would always recommend snap caps even if the manual says its ok to dry fire. Couldn't hurt.
Thanks. Man, the 9mm are SO much more expensive the 12 guages I bought :eek:

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
Welcome from Australia mate.
Glad to have you on board, nice folk here and lots of good info.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I sincerely appreciate the welcome, everyone.

It's a small thing, but taking the time to stop by and welcome me is really nice.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #8