Ruger Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello eveyone - first AR, first post, first problem... hope someone can shed a little light on it for me.

Pick-up the SR-556E a few weeks ago and got right to the mod's, was having trouble accessing the charging handle with the scope mount I had, so I changed that out to an extended handle from the local gun shop (can't recall the brand, but it was expensive, $65, but very nice quality and function is excellent). Took it out and shot a few hundred rounds. Added the Geissele S3G trigger, what can I say that hasn't already been said around here, great trigger. Took it out again and shot a few hundred rounds. While I was out shooting this last time, my buddy pointed out to me that I shouldn't actually need to charge the rifle each magazine I insert... Up to this point (and again, first AR, so I am a true beginner) I had been pulling the charging handle back and depressing the bolt catch plunger each time I loaded up a magazine. I now know that the BCG is supposed to stay in the open position once the final round in the magazine has been fired so all you need to do is hit the paddle after you load subsequent mag's.

Called Rugers support line, explained the issue, the woman was helpful, but not incredibly knowledgable... she too had to confirm that the BCG was to remain open after firing the final round, and since mine was not, she gave me a service request # and told me to send the riffle in. I am hoping to avoid sending it back in, 2 reasons, don't want to be without the weapon for 6-8 weeks and don't want to uninstall the new trigger and try to figure out how to put the factory trigger back in. So, kudo's to Ruger for wanting to fix this issue at the factory - however, if this sounds like a simple issue to you guys and you can point me to a spring or clip somewhere, I hope to learn how to work on my own guns and not rely on the service department.