Ruger Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought an Lc9 yesterday. I was looking forward to walk downstairs into the range, but it apparently it is closed on Wednesdays. Today I went back to shoot at the range. This is my first pistol. I've shot a buddy's Glock, but that's the only exposure I've had into handguns.

At the range, I bought the cheapest ammo which was blazer brass in the gold box. I shot one hundred rounds through my new gun. I had no problems firing. At first I thought I had one misfire, but it was actually the slide not staying back when the mag emptied. Does this sound like a successful day at the range? I'm new to this so I don't really know. I also didn't clean it before I shot the first rounds. I'm planning on trying to see how many rounds I can get out of it before it starts jamming. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
First, welcome to the forum from Missouri. Glad to have you with us.

I would recommend you clean the gun before you shoot again, especially since you didn't give it an initial cleaning. I'm assuming you bought the gun new, and new guns frequently have a lot of excess grease, etc.

The object is to never, or at least infrequently, have jams or other malfunctions. "Trying to see how many rounds I can get out of it before it starts jamming" is not a good idea if not cleaning it is a part of that equation. If your planning on using your LC9 as a self defense weapon, you sure don't want that event to be the occasion of your first malfunction.

Most people try to get a least 200 trouble-free rounds through a gun before declaring it suitable for self defense purposes.

The LC9 is a good gun. Keep us informed as to your progress.

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
You picked a very good gun to start with . I like the size and low recoil for a small gun.