Ruger Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I couldn't pass up this Marlin to match my Winchester 94.

The only thing I do not like is this front sight. I'm taking it to the range tomorrow or Saturday to see how it shoots.

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
nice----
going to scope or receiver sight it latter on down the road?

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't really know what my options are. Not sure what receiver sight means, sorry. I have never used a scope before in my life, that might be fun.

·
Registered
3,156 Posts

·
Registered
2,439 Posts
Eddie, Sweet Marlin, just a suggestion, look at the lyman or williams peep rear sight first before considering the scope. I really liked them and kept the old west feel to the gun.

·
Registered
880 Posts
Nice Marlin...you'll luv' it!

I agree with th' guys, tho'...look at and try..if you can...a "peep", or reciever sight, or what is known as a 'ghost ring' sight. It's essentially the same thing as a regular 'peep' sight, but usually has a bit larger opening to look thru.

They're 'bout perfect for that Marlin...enjoy!!!

·
Registered
33 Posts
The Williams peep sights never fog or loose their allignment like a scope and the batteries never quit at the worst time like a halo sight. The small rear apature greatly improves the sharpness of the front sight (even for old eyes). At the ranges appropriate for a lever gun the peep will do everything that the other options won't.

·
Registered
1,215 Posts
Marlin is a durn good rifle I'll conceed that. I have one in 30-30 but I have two Henrys that will stack up against any Marlin out there for ease in loading, reliability, and accurecy. Gotta love them Henrys

·
Registered
3 Posts
Eddie,

I think your going to like your Marlin 1894c/.357 Caliber much more then the Winchester... They are great Guns just look what they are going for now. It's hard to find a nice used one for under $500.00 dollar's.