Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new to all of this. I don't know even what questions to ask, so bear with me a bit.
I just bought a new RAR in .30-06 because over the past couple of years, I noticed when ammo was scarce on the shelves, .30-06 seemed to still be available. .30-06 should be heavy enough to hunt pretty much anything in North America or my little corner of lower Alabama.
Before I picked the RAR I looked at buying a used rifle preferably with iron sights. I looked at Remington 700's, Winchester 70's, Browning A bolts, Remington 1903 Spring-fields, Smith and Wesson I bolts, etc... I looked on the internet about controlled round feed vs. push round feed. The more I looked, the more questions I had. I talked to a couple of trusted friends and mere acquaintances and finally decided that iron sights were not worthy of being a deal breaker. Over/under sights like my Dad's Remington 7400 .30-06 came with were not so great and hard to use. I found one in a pawn shop and tried looking down the iron sights and found it to be a pain.
So after deciding to forgo the iron sights I had to decide what kind of scope. Someone suggested a "shotgun scope". "Shotgun scope"? Why or what would a shotgun scope be something I wanted? Guy said, well, they just usually have lower magnification, like instead of 3-9x they might have 1.5-6x or something. So I started looking into it and came to the conclusion that the Nikon Prostaff 2-7x32 was something I think I could live with. Where I am, the woods are thick. If I ever get a 150yd shot, it would be a rare occasion... Maybe I should have just got a 12 ga... Maybe, but I wanted a rifle and so here I am. If all goes well, over the next couple of years I will get a 12 ga pump and probably a Mini 14 in .223 or some kind of AR-15.... We can hope.