Ruger Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have acquired all the equipment over the past month. Slowly taking it out and setting it all up. Today I deprimed 50, 45 colt cases and felt a sense of pride 馃槃.

I enjoyed those moments and put Everything away and will put primers in tomorrow. I figure one thing at a time until I get confident at it.

I've read 3 manuals and those were a lot of help along with the tube videos I watched as well. Looks like this will be a fun thing to do now that I'm retired.

Registered
I probably collected brass for 4-5 years before I reloaded. A friend gave me an old C press, and I made a mess of things before I gave up for another 3 years, when a friend walked me though the process, and it all made sense. But then, I am not a rocket scientist.
Good luck. You deserve to take satisfaction in your achievement. Reloading has changed the way I look at shooting. I have not bought a box of ammo (except .22) since I started reloading (finally).

Registered
If you are loading straight wall cases, like your .45 Colt, buy carbide dies. Using carbide dies means that you don't have to lube the cases. Most of my dies are from Lee and they come with instructions. Beside the recipe books, that you all ready have, web sites from Hodgdon and Alliant offer some more choices, and the down load is free. You are wise to consult several books before you start to load. Good luck and welcome to the club........robin

Registered
You will enjoy reloading but take it step by step as you can easily double charge or forget to charge a case with powder.

Registered
So I have acquired all the equipment over the past month. Slowly taking it out and setting it all up. Today I deprimed 50, 45 colt cases and felt a sense of pride 馃槃.
Congratulations. Welcome to the party.
I enjoyed those moments and put Everything away and will put primers in tomorrow. I figure one thing at a time until I get confident at it.