Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everybody!

I am new to shooting and was wondering if the SR9 is a good first gun to own (i.e. ease of use, easy to maintain, safe, etc).

This will be used for range practice and home defense.

Thanks for your input.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I purchased the SR9 just a little over a month ago and absolutely love it. I've only been able to put 100 rounds through it but no FTFs or FTEs. This is my first 9mm. I have a Ruger Single Six and a MKII. I wasn't sure how the recoil would be since I've only had .22s. To my surprise there is very little recoil. The gun is easy to maintain. There are three separate safety features so this gun is definitely going to be safe, but remember your responsibility in being a safe shoter. I am a female who just got back into shooting after a home invasion. You will enjoy the SR9 at the range and it will be reliable for home defense. Go to your LGS and check one out. Only you will know if it is right for you but I am very pleased.

·
Registered
29 Posts
New SR9c owner here. Great guns, easily manageable on the range. I was looking at the Glock 19, but for the money this fit what I was looking for in a 9mm a bit more.

This is my first handgun as well.

·
Registered
250 Posts
The SR9 is an excellent choice for a first pistol, I own one and have been so pleased with it I plan to purchase an SR9c as well.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hey everybody!

Thank you for the replies. I appreciate your honest feedback about the SR9. I have been doing a lot of research on the gun for the past month, and I just wanted to justify all of the good things I have been reading online about it. I am looking forward to getting my license and purchasing the SR9 (hopefully within the next couple of months).

·
Registered
6,614 Posts
Welcome to the Forum from Georgia!