Ruger Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I'm new to the sight and also a new and proud owner of a SP101 w/ 2.25" barrel. I really like this firearm and after a couple of times to the range it proved to be pretty accurate for me. The stock sights are difficult to pick up in the indoor range so I decided to purchase an XS front sight. After going through the process of installing the sight I went to the range today to see how it worked out. The improvement in sight picture was immediate but my point of impact was way off from stock. With the stock sights the thing was dead on at 20yds with .357 Mag-158gr. and an inch or so low with
.38 SPC-125gr. Has anyone have the same problem with these sights. I took them off immediately when I returned home and put the stock sight back on. Im afraid I just blew $60. Any suggestions?:(

Sean

·
Registered
199 Posts
XS sights take a bit practice. You will have to work on learning to use them. Some hate them and some love them but I liked them on a 3" 1911 I had. I have thought of putting them on my SP.

Doyle

·
Registered
4,957 Posts
How far off and in which direction(s) and is it enough to significantly affect your intended use of the gun? Those are the questions.

For example, in a self-defense, short range gun, it may be very well worth exchanging a little different point of impact for better sight acquisition. Your scores may drop a bit at the range, but it could save your life.

Besides, it is not at all uncommon for fixed sight guns such as yours not to shoot to your desired point of impact, right out of the box, so you typically have to learn the needed hold over or under, anyway. Then, too, trying different ammo could get you back to your desired point of impact.

Again, how far off and in which direction?

·
Double P90 Shooter
19,887 Posts