Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm pretty new to the modern gun world and I wanted something to just take to the range and thought a 22 would make the most sense because of the price of the ammo (even though it is inflated, still a lot cheaper than 9mm) and it would be something my wife would also be able to handle well.

After shooting revolvers (mostly old Ruger 22s) with my Dad for a while I chose the SR22. I wanted something with the traditional hammer setup so I think this was a good option (only?) and it was on sale. I also was looking at a Zastava M70a which I'm thinking I should have got instead.

The problem is I'm a little concerned with the fit and finish. I'm usually extremely anal when buying anything but I had sort of a perfect storm of unfavorable conditions when I went to pick up the pistol so I was not focused at the time. Here are the issues (unfortunately pictures won't upload for some reason) and the gun has been unfired.
1. There is a noticeable dent on the frame right above the takedown lever
2. There are chips of the black finish on the slide around the muzzle
3. The finish has some wear on the slide catch
4. The gap between the mag floor plate and the grip seems kind of large compared to the pictures I've seen online. Display model was the same though.

Is this normal, should I contact Ruger? The shop owner said it was normal. I know 1 through 3 are just cosmetic it is just I'm accustomed to ~30 year old, steel revolvers that still look brand new and I'm hoping my expectations are too high.

Thank you very much for any input!

·
Registered
7,847 Posts
A big welcome to the forum from Georgia!

I bought mine three years ago it has some of those things now but that isvafterb3 years of use.

·
Registered
7,653 Posts
Welcome from Wisconsin

·
Double P90 Shooter
19,887 Posts
Welcome from the Republic of Texas...

·
Registered
8,193 Posts
Welcome to the forum from PA!