Ruger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Brand new here. First post. Please excuse the length. I have a short story to share.

I'm new to the world of guns. My father passed away back in October and left me with a collection of rifles and handguns. I grew up with the guns in the house but my father almost never shot them with me. I have two young daughters now and a wife that doesn't much care for guns so I never got around to owning them myself. My father's passing changed all that.

A good friend of mine helped me inventory the guns I inherited. His knowledge of firearms impressed me a great deal. My suggestion of selling the guns troubled him greatly and he convinced me that I'd regret selling any of the rifles or pistols. He immediately scheduled some range time at a local state park and within an hour I was completely and totally hooked. I won't go in to each gun I shot but the 1938 Colt Woodsman was fantastic, as was the Browning Hi Power. My friend suggested I purchase a modern firearm and steered me towards the S&W MP40.

I did not choose the Smith. Instead, I picked up the SR40c two weeks ago and have put over 600 rounds through it since then. As a new gun owner I love the safety features on the Ruger (especially the loaded chamber indicator, something my experienced shooter friends scoff at).

Our last session at the range proved to be quite an experience as the Ruger easily out shot the Glock at 15 yards. Group sizes were about an inch smaller than the Glock and the difference in felt recoil could not be ignored. I had read that the SR40c had less recoil than competing guns in the class but it wasn't until I shot it back to back with the Glock and Smith before I really appreciated the difference.

I'm already looking for my next Ruger. The Ohio CCW class is in my future and I'm really interested in pocket carry after shooting a friend's LCP last week.

·
Registered
3,912 Posts