Ruger Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today I fired my new to me No.1 in 45-70
As we all know the ammo in stores is scarce so my only option was Hornady 325gr FTX ammo.
The ammo left the barrel very dirty.
I am mostly a varmint shooter and never see a 22 caliber barrel this dirty.
Is this nature of the beast with big bores?

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
Congratulations HT.
Maiden voyages are always fun.
Don't know much about Hornady, in my .270 Win I use Remington.
Always relatively clean.

·
Ruger Tinkerer
11,898 Posts
Hairtrigger, I'm no expert and I haven't shot a .45-70 Govt. but I know it's a large cartridge and can hold a lot of powder. If you burn a lot of anything it usually leaves some residue behind and I would guess your experience is pretty normal. Hornady would not likely load a cheap, dirty powder. I have shot Hornady in my .375 Ruger and it leaves a good bit of residue to clean but I just attribute that to the large cartridge size and powder charge.

For comparison, a 22 Hornet may have 8 or 9 grains of powder. A .45-70 (Ruger #1) may have 40 - 55 grains of powder depending on load data, powder, bullet, etc.

You could try other ammo brands (when available) but I would guess you are seeing rather normal fouling.

·
Registered
3,041 Posts
I have two No.1s in 45-70. One was custom built at Aspen Gun Works several years ago with a 28" octagonal heavy barrel. Barrels being a bit dirty seems to be the nature of the beast. I own four 45-70s and a 458x2 American, which is basically a hotrod 45-70 using a trimmed mag cartridge. You have chosen a tremendously wonderful and fun caliber to shot. With the No.1, you can load anything from light to hot, and have a great time. Enjoy the new rifle. No. 1s are fine weapons.

·
Registered
747 Posts
My #1 - 45/70 has been with me close to 4 years now. Long enough to take 4 deer and two elk and provide a lot of enjoyment in and out of the field.