Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I got my CCW last year and before that I had no exp at all with any gun or rifle. Now I feel comfortable I have some knowledge of pistols. I have bought few pistols and stocked up on ammo and now with all the turmoil going on in world I like to pick up a rifle for home defense in event the country breaks out into civil war. I know that sounds crazy but I just don't know it seems to be getting closer all the time. Anyway I know nothing about rifles I think I need semi automatic does anyone have any recommendations ? Thanks for any feedback...

·
Registered
873 Posts
It all depends on what caliber. If you are looking for a .223 (5.56X45) then it is a no brainer, go for an AR15. Smith and Wesson has a nice M&P Sport model that doesn't break the bank if that is a concern. You could go with a 7.62X39 with an AK variant. Stay away from the WASR-10. Get an Arsenal. or you could get an SKS (surplus) that would be cheaper yet. Get back to me on some details. I wouldn't wait long to find out what semi-auto you want to get. A ban is coming you know! :(

·
Registered
1,845 Posts
I would suggest an entry level (non-competition) AR-15 in carbine length (16" barrel). The ammo .223 or 5.56mm, is relatively inexpensive, and with the availability of larger capacity mags like 30 rd it is best suited for what you want it for, which would be a lot of firepower at relatively short rifle distances.
Yes, there are heavier calibers with more stopping power, but the AR will do the job. It can be outfitted with a variety of sighting options such as a low power scope, red dot scope, and/or laser.

·
Registered
141 Posts