Ruger Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a novice hunter looking for my first rifle. I have considered a 30/30 lever action (I fired a friends and liked it ok) But would like more input. I have considered a Stevens 200 or a Mossberg 100 ATR. I am not sure on a caliber either .308,.30-06 or .270? Suggestions and opinions are needed and appreciated!

·
Registered
3,596 Posts
Well, you will probably get as many opinions as there are calibers. I assume you want a deer rifle. Any of the calibers and guns you mention will do just fine, so it comes down to preference on which you like better, the lever action or the bolt action. I like them both, but prefer the bolt action because I think scopes on lever actions are ugly, and I like to hunt deer with a scope, therefore I use a bolt gun! My personal gun is a 30/06, but I would not hesitate to use a .270 or .308 either. My wife uses a .308 and has killed a slew of deer with it. I know that they are more expensive, but why not a Ruger 77 MK2?

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
What are you gonna be hunting?
The 30-30 is a great old round and will work its magic on any deer inside 150 yds. Some say they can hit farther and probably can with that leveroution ammo. A marlin 30-30 does not kick as much as a 270 or 30-06 either and the 30-30 ammo is probably half the cost of the others you listed. Saw some on sale for $8.00/20.

The stevens 200 is as i understand it nothing more than the old model savage mdl 110 without the acu-trigger. Nothing wrong with that and they are good shooters.

Don't know much about the ATR.

The 308, 30-06, and .270 are all fine calibers and ammo is readily available anywhere with a bunch of choices. I would also look at the 243 as well if recoil is gonna be a factor. All of these rounds can out-distance the 30-30 but i am still of the opinion that 90% of deer are taken inside 100yds (at least around here).