Ruger Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
Since recently joining this forum I have read with interest the many threads and even more numerous posts on various self-defense scenarios. One thing that struck me immediately was something I always felt was true: that gun owners concerned with self defense at a level to move them to secure a CCW license are quite responsible and level-headed people.

Much of what is discussed re self defense is hypothetical by necessity, since few here have ever deployed a weapon in a self defense situation. However, my own experiences are somewhat unique: for a little more than a decade I worked as a newspaper reporter who covered the police beat, this in an era when the cops were a lot more open with the local media than they are today and also when said local media was not as overrun with airheaded liberals as now. So in that decade I was present at roughly 500 homicide scenes, uncounted shootings/stabbings and probably a few thousand armed and strong arm robberies. I went along on drug raids where everyone went in with weapons drawn. I was present a dozen or more times when officers fired their weapons, twice resulting in fatal wounds to suspects. I knew personally a number of officers who had killed on duty, and I knew personally three who were killed on duty by gunfire. This was before legal CCW, but police all over the country used to issue what we called "wink wink pistol permits," as in , "You are out here as a nurse working nights/ambulance driver/business owner making bank deposits/reporter on street duty and of course it IS illegal to carry a gun (here the officer winks repeatedly) but I for one would never pat you down." So my unofficial companion in those years was a 4 inch Colt Python.