Ruger Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
bedside gun? Most dependable for HD? SR9c, SR9 or P95? Have never shot any of them so don't have a feeling on either. I kind of like the hammer being there on the P95. I'm new to handguns, have bought a SR22, Lite and a S10 in the last few months so most of my shooting will be with these 3 guns. Whichever 9mm I get will get some break-in and for both me and the gun but will not be shot as much as the other 3, just to keep both current. I know the SR22 is the trainer for the other SR's but it does have a hammer so can be shot both DA & SA. Plus the $ difference as I have about spent my "mad" money for the year.

·
Registered
53 Posts
p95 is also cheaper, just as reliable (imo) but a little less "feel good" in the hand... its accurate durable and is lbs 4 lbs a tough s.o.b. to beat.

that being said, the sr9 or sr9c is all of the above too except cost more LOL.

·
Registered
259 Posts
I would say the SR9c because it can double as a carry gun as well. Pop in the extended mag at night and you have a great bedside gun. That is what I do with my SR9c, carry it IWB all day, throw in the large magazine at night.

·
Registered
3,612 Posts
All 3 will serve you well for a bedside/HD gun. The SR9c gives you the added benefit of a CC gun if you choose. The P95 is the least expensive, and a great value. Your SR22P matches the P95 controls perfectly. I would choose between the SR9c and the P95. My house guns are P95s

·
Registered
332 Posts
bedside gun? Most dependable for HD? SR9c, SR9 or P95?
Of the three you mention I would definitely go with the SR9C. And, I would also invest in a laser sight for it. Remember if, God forbid, a bedside gun will ever be called upon it will more than likely be under low or no light conditions. That is where the laser sight will [no pun intended] really shine for you!